Oman names unchanged squad for tri-series

Published On: January 23, 2020 09:34 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 23: Oman cricket team announced an unchanged squad for participation in the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 tri-series hosted by Nepal from February 5-12 in TU Cricket Ground. The United States (US) is the third team in the One-day International triangular series.

Zeeshan Maqsood will captain the side with Aqib Illyas being his deputy. Similarly, star players like Jatinder Singh and Bilal Khan will tour Nepal to participate in all important triangular ODI series.

Oman head coach Duleep Mendis, former Sri Lanka cricket great, stressed on focusing on continuity in team selection for better results before sticking to same team that took part in the home tri-series in December involving the United Arab Emirates and Namibia.

Oman is lurking fourth on the table with eight points. Namibia and Scotland occupies third and second places respectively. The US currently heads the seven-team points table with 12 points from 8 matches, winning six and losing two.

Nepal is yet to play any game in the ICC CWC League 2. The opening match against Oman will be played on February 5 followed by Oman versus US on February 6.

The US had announced an unchanged squad on Tuesday whereas Nepal is yet to announce its squad for the tri-series.

Zeeshan Maqsood (captain), Aqib Ilyas (vice-captain), Jatinder Singh, Khawar Ali, Sanuth Ebrahim, Suraj Kumar, Muhammed Naseem, Sandeep Goud, Muhammed Nadeem, Jay Odedra, Baadal Singh, Ahmed Fayyaz Butt, Kaleemullah, Bilal Khan

Reserves: Amir Kaleem, Khurram Nawaz Khan, Gopendra Bohara, Ajay Lalcheta

Leave A Comment