81 percent post-quake reconstruction completed in Khotang

Published On: November 25, 2019 08:15 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KHOTANG, Nov 25: Khotang district has completed reconstruction of 81 percent of quake-hit private houses.

According to the District Project Implementation Unit, Khotang, of the National Reconstruction Authority, 81 percent of post-quake reconstruction has been completed in eight rural municipalities and two municipalities of the district.

A total of 8,823 households have been registered as the beneficiaries for the housing grant provided by the government. Of them, the houses of 8,462 beneficiaries have been registered for reconstruction, while 361 for retrofitting.

By mid-November, a total of 5,507 families have received the third and final installment of housing grant. Likewise, 6,710 families and 8,332 families have received second and first installments, respectively, according to Madiram Dhakal, non-gazetted officer at the NRA District Project Implementation Unit, Khotang.

The NRA has distributed Rs 50,000 as first installment, Rs 150,000 as second installment, and Rs 100,000 as third installment. Of the beneficiaries, 98 percent has received the first installment, and 80 percent and 65 percent households have received second and third installments, respectively.

After signing the contract on April 16, 2017, the NRA had started distributing the first installment of the grant from June the same year, while distribution of the second and third installments of the grant started in May and September, respectively last year.

The quake had damaged a total of 13,799 houses in Khotang district.

The quake had completely destroyed 18 government buildings, and partially damaged 55 buildings. The NRA is reconstructing 265 school buildings, and developing integrated settlements in Dorpachuiri Dadha and Bijayakharkha.

Likewise, the authority has also allocated budget for the reconstruction of 17 monasteries in the district. The budget has been allocated for the reconstruction of eight monasteries in Aiselukharka Rural Municipality, seven in Kepilas Gadhi Rural Municipality, and one each in Diktel Rupakot Majuwagadhi Municipality and Sakela Rural Municipality, according to the authority.

Leave A Comment