CAN’s provincial elections completed

Published On: September 8, 2019 10:17 AM NPT By: Ashok Sujan Shrestha

MAKWANPUR, Sept 8 : Elections of all the seven provincial chapters of the suspended cricket body Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has been completed with the election of Province 3 held at Hetauda of Makwanpur district on Saturday. The Province 3 elected Raju Basnyat as the President of the Province 3 chapter of the CAN.

Elections of other six provinces had been held earlier.  The former national cricket captain Basnyat defeated his rival Naresh Rana, president of Lalitpur Cricket Association, by three votes in the final voting. Basnyat got 13 against Rana’s 10 votes during the elections. A total of 23 voters of the total 24 representatives from six districts in Province 3 participated in the voting.

Similarly, Makwanpur’s Prem Bahadur Chhettri and Nuwakot’s Durga Raj Pathak were elected as vice-president and secretary respectively. Chitwan’s Anil Adhikari was elected as treasurer. Chhetri, Pathak and Adhikari were elected unopposed. Maheshwori Dangol and Ajaybir Pandey of Kathmandu, Sudip Piya and Umesh Piya of Chitwan, Bhaktapur’s Rupak Ranjit, Lalitpur’s Sujan Maharjan, Nuwakot’s Anujman Shrestha and Prajwal Sapkota, as well as Makwanpur’s Raju Gupta, were unanimously elected as members of the provincial body. 

CAN’s election for central governing body is planned to be held within few weeks. However, no specific date has been announced yet. 

Leave A Comment