7 players, 2 coaches honored with National Sports Talent Award

Published On: August 13, 2016 03:00 AM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, Aug 13: Ministry of Youth and Sports and National Youth Council honored seven players, two coaches and one national association with National Sports Talent Award on the occasion of International Youth Day on Friday.

President Bidya Bhandari and Minister for Youth and Sports Daljit BK Sripali honored them with letter of appreciation and Rs100,000 each during a function organized in Kathmandu on Friday.

Among the seven players, four were gold medalists of 12th South Asian Games (SAG).  

Wushu's Nima Gharti Magar, judoka Phupu Lhamu Khatri, footballer Nawayug Shrestha, cricketer Sandip Lamichhane, athlete Bipana Pariyar, swimmer  Gaurika Singh and taekwondo's Nisha Rawal  were players to be honored on Friday.

Nima and Phupu had won gold at SAG. Nawayug had played a key role when Nepal won gold in football at 12th SAG after 23 years and also during Nepal's title haul of Bangabandu Gold Cup.  Sandip had given impressive performances in cricket throughout the year including a hat-trick against Ireland in the U19 ICC U-19 World Cup while Bipana had won four golds including two school level records in President's Running Shield held in Kathmandu couple of month earlier.

The youngest player of the Rio Olympics 2016 Gaurika had won one silver and three bronze in swimming event at 12th SAG becoming first Nepali swimmer to win medal in individual event of swimming at international level. Nisha is the player who has been selected for Rio Olympics   through wildcard.

Kumar Paudel, who has been coaching, organizing and managing the para games and national kho kho team's head coach Ram Narayan Raya were also honored. Nepal Triathlon Association got rewarded as the best sport association.

Gaurika, Phupu and Sandip didn't attend the program as Gaurika and Pupu both are currently at Olympics and Sandip is with national cricket team in the Netherlands.

Addressing the program, President Bhandari said that youths should be mobilized for the nation's economic and social development and stressed on the need of strong steps from youths in reconstruction of the infrastructures damaged by earthquake.

Dhurmush-Suntali  Foundation from  social service sector, Paicho Pasal Private Limited from professional  farming, Raju Adhikari from environment and sanitation, disable Amir Lama  from fine arts and music, Shiva Pariyar from art and music,  Lochan Basnet  from farming (fruits), Ful Maya  Tamang of Maiti   Nepal for the  campaign against   girls trafficking, Dipak Timilsina from farming ( livestock farming), director of Kalo Pothi Man Bahadur Bham from arts and  culture and Suman Satyal from scientific research were  other  winners of the award.

August 12 is celebrated as  International   Youth Day worldwide.

Leave A Comment