Nepal blind women’s team creates history after third win

Published On: February 4, 2019 01:35 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 4: Nepal blind women’s cricket team has created history by becoming the first team to win an international T20I series with a 3-0 lead in five matches after it defeated Pakistan by nine wickets in Faisalabad on Sunday. 

Nepal has now won three matches in the series, with one more to be played and one abandoned due to rain. 

Nepal defeated Pakistan by 10 wickets each in the first match played in Lahore and the third in Rawalpindi. The second match in Faisalabad was abandoned due to rain.

In the series-winning match on the day, Nepal chased the target of 102 runs losing one wicket in 8.5 overs. 

Bimala Rai scored the highest not-out 42 runs for Nepal hitting nine fours off 15 balls, while Mankesari Chaudhary added 25 runs and Muna Aryal was not-out on 22 runs. Chaudhary hit five fours off 13 balls, while Aryal hit a four in 28 balls.

Earlier, Pakistan made 101 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Kiran Rafique scored the highest 16 runs, while opener Tayawa Fatima hit 13 runs.

Captain Binita Rai, Aryal and Aayushma Chhetri took a wicket each, while four Pakistani players were run out. 

Bimala Rai was named the man-of-the-match and was rewarded with Rs 12,328 (Rs 15,000 in Pakistani currency).

Leave A Comment