SEB, Army, Makawanpur win in Dhorpatan Women’s C’ship

Published On: January 20, 2019 11:30 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 20: Samakhusi English Boarding School (SEB), the departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club and Thaha Municipality of Makawanpur have started the 14th Red Bull Dhorpatan Suzuki Women’s Double League Volleyball Championship with wins in Kathmandu on Saturday. 

At the Dhorpatan Club’s Sports Ground at New Buspark, SEB defeated Thaha Municipality in the first game on straight sets of 3-0. SEB won the game 25-17, 25-11, 25-15 not giving the opponent any chance to make a comeback in the match. 

In the other game played on the same day, Army saw off Shree Gaun Sports Development Committee of Dang on straight sets of 3-0. To win the match convincingly, Army beat Shree Gaun 25-18, 25-8, 25-16. 

In the third game played on the day, Thaha Municipality defeated the host Dhorpatan Club on straight sets of 3-0 making amends to its loss in the first match. It won the sets 25-16, 25-12, 27-25. 

The tournament, which will run till February 2, was inaugurated by the National Sports Council (NSC) Vice-President Pitambar Timilsina. 

The tournament is being played in double league format and four matches will be played on Sunday. 

Shree Gaun will face Thaha Municipality in the first match, while the second match sees Dhorpatan take on SEB. Army will play against Thaha Municipality in the third match, while the fourth match will be between Shree Gaun and Dhorpatan Club.  

A total of eight teams including the departmental teams Army, Nepal Police Club, Armed Police Force (APF) Club, along with Western Regional Sports Development Committee of Pokhara, Chitwan Tigers, Shree Gaun, SEB, Thaha Municipality and the host Dhorpatan are taking part in the tournament. 

The seven top teams will enter the second round.


Leave A Comment