5 women emerge victorious in mayoral and deputy mayoral races in Syangja

Published On: May 19, 2017 01:14 PM NPT By: Santosh Pokharel

SYANGJA, May 19: Five female mayoral candidates have won races of mayor and deputy mayor of 5 Municipalities in Syangja district.

CPN-UML mayoral candidate Sima Kshetri has been elected mayor of Putalibazar Municipality.

UML candidate Devi Thapa Magar has won race for deputy mayor of Galyang Municipality. Likewise, Nepali Congress (NC) deputy mayoral candidates Bimala Shrestha and Sima Karmacharya have emerged victorious in the local level elections in Chapakot and Bhirkot Municipalities respectively.

Likewise, NC deputy mayoral candidate Kalpana Tiwari has won the race for deputy mayor of Waling Municipality.

“We are proud of having female representation in all of the five municipalities in the district”, said Waling Multiple Campus chief Rina Rana. “The victory achieved by these five women has made all the women happy. We have felt that a portion of total population accounting for more than its half  has been represented in the five municipalities”, added she.

All of the five female representatives of local people have expressed a determination to to not renege on the promises they made during the election campaign.

Bimala Shrestha, Deputy Mayor of Chapakot Municipality

Devi Thapa Magar, Deputy Mayor of Galyng Municipality

Kalpana Tiwari, Deputy Mayor of Waling Municipality

Sima Kshetri,  Mayor of Putalibazar Municipality

Sima Karmacharya, Deputy Mayor of Bhirkot Municipality

Leave A Comment