Gurung, Bidari, Rawal, Shrestha to head four upper house panels

Published On: August 28, 2018 03:30 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Aug 28: Parliamentary committees under the National Assembly are set to get their heads on Wednesday, with the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) finalizing its candidates for the elections to the posts of committee chiefs.

Publishing a notice, the Parliament Secretariat called for candidacy for the upper house committees from 11 am to 4 pm on Tuesday. Election to pick heads of the four upper house committees is slated for Wednesday at 11 am at the meeting hall of the respective committees.

According to the NCP parliamentary party leader of the upper house Dinanath Sharma the party has finalized the candidates representing geography, ethnicity and gender. He said the party has finalized Parshu Meghi Gurung for head of the Legislation Management Committee, Ram Narayan Bidari for Delegated Management and Government Assurance Committee, Dilkumari Rawal (Parwati) for National Concerns and Coordination and Bhairab Sundar Shrestha for Sustainable Development and Good Governance Committee.

Earlier, the election for the heads of the upper house panels was scheduled for August 19 and rescheduled later for August 29 after the main opposition Nepali Congress (NC) also sought one of the four posts through consensus. Although the ruling NCP declined to allot any of the four posts to the NC, the opposition has decided not to field its candidates for the posts.

“We won't field our candidates for the committee heads as it is certain that our candidates won't win the poll. We also want to elect the committee heads unanimously,” said an NC leader.

Leave A Comment