House endorses Parliament Regulations, PHSC to be 15-member

Published On: June 19, 2016 03:11 PM NPT By: Ashok Dahal  | @ashokpillar

KATHMANDU, June 19 - The Legislature-Parliament has passed the Legislature-Parliament Business Operations Regulations which had been pending at the House for a long time due to differences among the major political parties. A meeting of the Legislature-Parliament approved the Regulations on Sunday.

This became possible after the parties agreed on the number of members for the Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee (PHSC).

After the Nepali Congress (NC), the main opposition, withdrew its amendment proposal seeking to keep 75 members in the PHSC as in the past, the PHSC will now be a 15-member committee as per the new Constitution.

As agreed upon by the major political parties, the 15-member PHSC has six lawmakers from the NC, four from CPN-UML, two from CPN (Maoist Center) and one each from RPP-N MJF-Loktantrik. The position of a member remains vacant.

NC lawmakers who have been chosen members of the PHC are Anand Dhungana, KB Gurung, Chinkaji Shrestha, Chitra Lekha Yadav, Bal Krsihna Khand, and Prakash Sharan Mahat. Similarly, UML lawmakers in the PHSC are Ganeshman Gurung, Asta Laxmi Shakya, Bhanubhakta Dhakal and Dharma Nath Shah.

Likewise, lawmakers Hitraj Pandey and Anita Pariyar from the CPN (Maoist Center), Shailendra Bantawa from RPPN-N and Yogendra Chaudhary from MJF-Loktantrik are the members of the PHSC.

Following the formation of the PHSC, the deadlock on appointing 11 Supreme Court justices proposed by the Judicial Council and 21 ambassadors named by the government is expected to ease.     

As per the existing provisions, the PHSC can reject a name through a two-thirds majority while a simple majority will be enough to clear the name.   


Leave A Comment