Shanker Dev Campus lifts BBA Cricket Cup

Published On: May 23, 2018 07:48 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, May 23: Shanker Dev Campus has lifted the Universal TU BBA Cup T20 Cricket Tournament with a six-run win over KCMIT in the final match on Tuesday. 

In a match played at the Mulpani Cricket Ground, Shanker Dev won the toss and opted to bat first scoring 146 runs for the loss of eight wickets in the allotted 20 overs. In a close finish, KCMIT failed to chase the target and was limited to 140 runs for the loss of eight wickets in its full quota of overs. 

Manish Chalise scored the highest 32 runs off 31 balls including five fours for Shanker Dev, while Ranjan Kumar Gupta hit 31 runs off 24 deliveries with five boundaries. Likewise, Abiral Lama added 21 runs off 18 balls which included a four, while Rajan Dhakal contributed 17 runs off 29 deliveries for the winning team. 

Saroj Mandal was the pick of the KCMIT bowlers as he notched up four wickets giving away 31 runs in his four-over-spell, while Sarwan Bhandari pocketed two wickets. Also, Aashish Thakur and Bibek Budhathoki nicked a wicket each.

Chasing the total, KCMIT’s Thakur remained not out on 60 runs off 40 balls including eight boundaries and a six in his innings. However, it was not enough to get KCMIT over the line. Also, Rakesh Banepali scored 20 runs off 22 deliveries with three fours, while Arjun Pant also remained not out on 17 runs off 13 balls. 

Dhakal took the most wickets for the winning side as he bagged three wickets giving away 21 runs in his four overs, while Sachin Poudel and Manoj Bista shared two wickets each. Similarly, Shankar Gyawali snapped a wicket. 

Dhakal was named the man-of-the-match and was rewarded with Rs 500. 

KCMIT had reached the final with a eight-run win over Mahendra Multiple Campus in the first semifinal match played on Monday, while Shanker Dev had advanced into the final with one wicket victory over MMAMC Biratnagar played on the same day. 

With the title win, Shanker Dev took home Rs 50,000, while the runner-up KCMIT was rewarded with Rs 25,000. 

Shanker Dev’s Sachin Poudel was named the man of the series and was prized with Rs 10,000. Likewise, Shanker Dev’s Dhakal and KCMIT’s Banepali won the best bowler and the best batsman awards. They both got Rs 5,000 each. 


Leave A Comment