NCP still struggling to give full shape to central committee

Published On: May 21, 2018 06:36 AM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, May 21: The Nepal Communist Party’s struggle to give full shape to the party’s central committee continued Sunday with more than 250 leaders staking claim to around 100 positions that remained to be filled.

The party on Sunday inducted 42 leaders from the erstwhile UML in the 441-member strong CC.  But the erstwhile Maoist Center has not been able to pick its candidates due to a long list of aspirants. 
The new appointees from the erstwhile UML include youth leaders, secretaries, ‘committed party members’ representing various sister wings. The name was finalized through a joint meeting of KP Oli and Madhav Kumar Nepal. 

A separate meeting of the Maoist faction of the party held to finalize its candidates however ended inconclusively citing more homework was needed. 

“The problem is that more than 200 names have been recommended for around 100 posts. Leaders are currently weighing up the recommended names,” said a Maoist leader. The party has assigned NCP Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal,  and leaders Narayankaji Shrestha and Ram Bahadur Thapa to finalize the names. 

Leaders said that the decision to form a bloated organization during merger between the then Maoist Center and various offshoots of the former rebel party was now creating problem in the selection of CC members. In a bid to appease various offshoots, Dahal had formed a jumbo central committee comprising around 4000 members. 

The party had started the process to downsize the central committee since the first week of May. 
“Some minor issues are causing problem in finalizing the names. The CC will get full shape within the next few days,” said NCP leader Pampha Bhusal. 

The Maoist faction of the party is facing similar problem finalizing party’s appointees for the standing committee. Leaders said that around 20 more names have come forward even as the Maoist faction has ten quotas that remained to be filled in the 41-member standing committee. 

Newly-inducted CC members
Khagraj Adhikari, Gokul Baskota, Mahesh Basnet, Bishnu Rijal, Narulal Chaudhary, Dormani Paudel, Til Kumar Menyangbo, Rajendra Gautam, Ananda Pokhrel, Kailash Dhungel, Guru Prasad Baral, Yuba Raj Khatiwada, Balram Baskota, Keshab Lal Shrestha, Rameshwar Phuyal, Krishna Rai, Basanta Manandhar, Niraj Acharya, Dayal Bahadur Shahi, Rabindra Adhikari (Nawalpur), Binod Dhakal, Mahesh Regmi, Bhanu Bhakta Joshi, Gauri Oli, Samim Miyan Ansari, Pramod Narayan Yadav, Dil Kumari Panta, Lila Bhandari, Ayindra Sundar Nembang, Sadhya Bhadur Bhandari, Chandra Bhadur Shahi, Devendra Dahal, Achyut Mainali, Devi Gyawali, Rameshwor Rana Magar, Naresh Kharel, Binod Shrestha, Shreenath Rawal, Govinda Bikram Shah, Sharada Subedi, Laxman Gyawali and Ek Bhadur Rana.  

Leave A Comment