Province 2 announces more eight public holidays

Published On: April 23, 2018 05:33 PM NPT

JANAKPUR, April 23: The government in Province 2 has announced eight public holidays in addition to the number of such holidays fixed by the federal government. 

Such holidays are announced on various festivals and occasions that are celebrated in the province comprising eight Tarai districts from Saptari in the east to Parsa in west. 

The province government has decided to give public holidays on the Janaki Nawami, Janai Purnima, Bibaha Panchami and Ramnawami festivals. 

Similarly, it has decided to observe Magh 5 every year in the Nepali Calendar as the Madhesh Movement Memorial Day and give a public holiday, according to under-secretary at the Administration Division, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Law. 

As per the government decision here, the Province people will get two public holidays each on the occasion of the Chhath festival and Fagu Purnima (Holi). 

Likewise, the public will get a holiday on the birth anniversary of Paigambar Hajrat Muhammed Sallahu Walaihe Wasam (Rabi al-awall) that is celebrated by the Muslim community. 

The announcement made around two weeks ago is yet to be published by the Department of Printing, the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (federal government) as the province government does not have its own printing department.

The Ministry said that any law or decision would come into force after its publication by the Department. It has been over a week that the Ministry forwarded the decision to the center. 

Leave A Comment