Kathmandu on top with third consecutive victory, Biratnagar registers first win

Published On: April 5, 2018 08:28 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

DHANGADHI, April 5: Kathmandu Goldens has continued its winning streak in the second Dhangadhi Premier League with an 11-run win over CYC Attariya taking its tally to three games, and Biratnagar Kings recorded its first win in the tournament with a 42-run victory over struggling Rupandehi Challengers on Wednesday.

At the Seti Zone Police Cricket Ground, opting to bat first after winning the toss, Kathmandu, presented a target of 138 runs for the loss of nine wickets in the allotted 20 overs. In reply, Attariya was limited to 126 runs for the loss of eight wickets in 20 overs. 

Earlier, on the same day, Rupandehi won the toss and elected to field first and was given a target of 182 runs by Biratnagar, for the loss of four wickets in the allotted 20 overs. In reply, Rupandehi failed to chase the target and was limited to 139 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs. 
Kathmandu captain Gyanendra Malla became one of the five players to get the half-century in the tournament as he hit 57 runs off 43 balls which included three sixes and four fours, while the other batsmen could not impress much for the winning team. 

Naresh Budayair scored 27 off 17 balls comprising two sixes and two boundaries, while Rashid Khan added 16 runs off nine balls with a four and a six. Likewise, no other batsman could reach the double figures as the openers Amit Shrestha and Suboth Bhati were out for six and seven runs respectively, Bhupendra Thapa, Pushpa Thapa and Kishore Mahato scored four runs each, Sunny Patel made three runs and Lalit Rajbanshi added just one run and Shabab Alam went back to the pavilion for a duck.

Shuvankar Urao was the pick of the Attariya bowlers as he claimed three wickets giving away 19 runs in the four overs he bowled, while Krishna Karki and Indian recruit Vipin Chandra pocketed two wickets each. Likewise, Kamal Singh Airee and Dipendra Singh Airee picked up a wicket each. 
In reply, no Attariya batsman could shine much, but 36 runs off 26 balls including four sixes and a four from Gaurav Chitkara showed some signs of a comeback, but his dismissal and other batsmen’s failure to get runs on the board was a sign of a loss. 

Chandra hit not out 26 runs off 24 balls which included two sixes and a boundary, while Sandeep Jhora scored a six and two fours. Also, Urao made 12 runs off six balls with a four and a six, while Dipendra Airee was dismissed for nine. Likewise, the openers Kushal Bhurtel and PremTamang made eight and four runs respectively, while Karki got a run and Kamal Airee and Subash Khakurel went out for ducks. 

Bhati showcased a wonderful bowling performance as he pocketed three wickets giving away 10 runs in the four overs he bowled, while Sunny Patel and Khan nicked two wickets each. Similarly, Alam picked up a wicket for the winning team. 

Bhati was named the man-of-the-match and was rewarded with Rs 10,000. 

On the day which saw three half-centuries and two from Biratnagar batsmen, Babar Hayat’s was the best of the lot as he hit 58 runs off 35 balls including four sixes and four boundaries. 

He was supported by the two openers Dilip Nath and Anil Kumar Sah as they scored 43 and 36 runs respectively. Nath scored his runs off 37 balls which included a six and six boundaries, while Sah did his part off 25 balls comprising of three sixes and three boundaries. Likewise, captain Paras Khadka added 22 runs off 12 balls including a six and three boundaries, while Saurav Khanal contributed 17 runs off 11 balls with a six and a four. 

Rupandehi could not shine with the ball yet again as only three bowlers picked up a wicket at the least. Sufyan Mehmood of Oman claimed two wickets in the four overs he bowled giving away 39 runs, while Jitendra Mukhiya and Sagar Pun pocketed a wicket each for the losing team. 

In reply, the opener Pradeep Singh Airee scored his second half century of the tournament, but even that could not prevent the loss for Rupandehi. He scored 54 runs off 50 balls including two sixes and six boundaries. 

The other batsmen simply failed to get to the mark as Indian recruit Dipak Prasad made 22 runs off 17 balls which included a six and two fours, while Sushan Bhari contributed 21 runs off nine deliveries with two sixes and a boundary. Likewise, captain Shakti Gauchan added 14 runs off 15 balls with a six, while Kushal Malla was out for just six runs. Also, the other opener Pun made five, Amar Singh Routela got four, Bikram Bhusal scored three and Mehmood just hit two runs for the losing team. 

Only three bowlers picked up a wicket for Biratnagar as Shubham Kamat pocketed three wickets for 18 runs in the four overs he bowled, while Ramnaresh Giri and captain Khadka claimed two and a wicket respectively. 

Babar Hayat was named the man-of-the-match and was prized with Rs 10,000. 

Biratnagar will now take on Team Chauraha Dhangadhi as the former will be looking to get its second win, while Dhangadhi will be hoping to go level on points with Kathmandu with a win. Also, Mahendranagar United will take on Rupandehi as Mahendranagar will be looking for its second victory, while Rupandehi would want to record its first win of the season.

Leave A Comment