ICC approves Ruslan Dhangadhi Premier League 2

Published On: March 15, 2018 08:13 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 15: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has approved the second edition of the Ruslan Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL), which had introduced franchise-based T20 event in Nepal, scheduled to start from March 31 in Dhangadhi.

The ICC in a statement issued on Wednesday informed about the approval of the Dhangadhi-based marquee tournament. The approval was sanctioned by the Senior Cricket Operation Manager Clive Hitchcock. 

The DPL is under ICC’s jurisdiction in which the management will have to set up a mandatory Anti Corruption Unit (ACU), which will authenticate and officiate the matches throughout the tournament.   
The Chairman of the DPL Subash Shahi expressed happiness on the news of approval and said that it will help Dhangadhi to develop as an international city on the cricket map of Nepal. 

“I am extremely delighted that the tournament has been approved by the ICC and this marks a new achievement for Dhangadhi as the city of cricket in Nepal,’’ Shahi said. “This will help the players get international recognition and the competition will get a new height.” 

A total of six teams including Kathmandu Goldens, Biratnagar Kings, Rupandehi Challengers, CYC Attariya, Mahendranagar United and the defending champions Team Chauraha are taking part in the tournament. The auction was held on February 21 in which a total of 72 players were sold. Basant Regmi, Karan KC and Aarif Sheikh were among the highest earners from the auction. 

The winner of the tournament will take home Rs 2.5 million, while the runner-up will be rewarded with Rs 1 million. Likewise, the third-placed team and the fourth-placed team will be prized with Rs 300,000 and Rs 200,000 respectively. 

The Ruslan-sponsored tournament will be held at the Seti Zone Police Cricket Ground in Chauraha. 


Leave A Comment