Govt formation begins in Province 3 and 5

Published On: February 11, 2018 02:19 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 11: Province 3 and 5 have begun to form provincial governments, the first in Nepal’s federalism.   

Dormani Paudel and Shankar Pokherel from CPN-UML have been elected as Chief Ministers of Province 3 and 5 respectively. In both provinces, political parties submitted an official letter to the Office of Province Chief on Sunday regarding their candidates for the position. 

According to the constitution’s clause 168 (1), The Chief of State shall appoint the leader of the parliamentary party commanding a majority in the State Assembly as the Chief Minister, and the State Council of Ministers shall be constituted under his or her chairpersonship.

CPN- UML and  CPN (Maoist Center) jointly to submit the official letter at the office of Province Chief Anuradha Koirala to appoint as CM of Province-3. Maoist Center provincial parliamentary party leader Shalikram Jamerkattel supported UML’s PP leader, Paudel.

Following the appointment of CM, the council of ministers will be formed from Monday onwards.

Unable to nominate PP leader by the CPN (Maoist Center), Nomination of CM in Province 5 has been delayed. The Maoist Center is likely to finalize the PP leader by today evening. 

Leave A Comment