EC makes public calendar for NA election

Published On: January 10, 2018 07:18 PM NPT

Kathmandu, Jan 10: The Election Commission has today published the calendar for the election of National Assembly members scheduled to be held on coming February 7. 
Accordingly, the voters' list will be published on January 21 while filing of nominations shall take place on January 24, according to EC spokesperson Nawaraj Dhakal. 

Likewise, the candidates will get their respective election symbol on January 29 while the voting on February 7 will take place from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm. The results of the voting will be made public by mid-February. 

There are a total of 2,056 eligible voters for the NA elections, comprising the rural municipality chair and vice-chair, municipality mayor and deputy mayor and the provincial assembly members. The high courts in the districts have been designated as the polling centres while the district judge of Dhankuta, Dhanusha, Lalitpur, Kaski, Dang, Surkhet and Doti have been appointed the returning officers for the election. 

The election shall elect 56 NA members eight each from the seven provinces and including at least three women and one dalit member. The 59-member National Assembly will have three members elected by the President on the recommendation of the Government. 
The NA election is taking place as per the Single Transferable Voting System.

Leave A Comment