JC names four for High Court chief judges

Published On: January 5, 2018 01:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 5: The Judicial Council (JC) headed by Chief Justice Gopal Parajuli on Thursday has recommended four individuals for appointment as High Court judges. 

The JC recommended Nahakul Subedi, chief registrar of the Supreme Court for chief judge at Tulsipur High Court and promoted three other high court judges to chief judges.  

Over the past six months, Subedi got three promotions -- first he was promoted from joint registrar to secretary and then to chief registrar of the Supreme Court and now to chief judge. 

Thursday's JC meeting was also attended by Law Minister Yagya Bahadur Thapa, and members Ram Prasad Sitaula and Padam Vaidik.

Supreme Court's seniormost justice Deepak Raj Joshi, who is also a member of JC, however wrote a note of dissent against Subedi's promotion as chief judge. He also expressed dissatisfaction over Subedi's appointment saying that female candidate Sushma Lata Mathema was denied the chance to become chief judge. 

Judge Udaya Prasad Chapagain has been recommended for chief judge of Janakpur High Court, Judge Yagya Basyal for Dipayal High Court and Hari Kumar Pokharel for chief judge of Surkhet High Court. Following JC's recommendation, Chief Justice Parajuli will appoint them soon, according to JC officials. 

Meanwhile, the Judicial Service Commission has also recommended Mahendra Nath Upadhyay for appointment as registrar of the Supreme Court and Chiranjivi Khanal for secretary of the Judicial Service Commission. 

Leave A Comment