Maoist Center wins provincial polls in Syangja

Published On: December 12, 2017 08:59 AM NPT By: Mohan Gurung

SYANGJA, Dec 12: CPN (Maoist Center) candidate for Syangja-1 (A) Dipak Thapa has been elected to the Provincial Assembly. Thapa defeated his closest rival of Nepali Congress Kamal Prasad Pangeni with a margin of 2, 726 votes.

Thapa secured 21, 666 votes while his rival Pangeni got 14, 392 votes. Thapa is the central advisory council member of the CPN (Maoist Center).

Pangeni was the president of the Syangja District Working Committee of Nepali Congress.

Similarly, Bhumijung KC of Rastriya Party Nepal’s candidate secured 444, Rastriya Janamukti Party’s Rudra Thapa got 156 votes while Mangol National Organization’s Durga Ram Gurung obtained 133 votes.

Of the total 53, 348 voters, 33,495 had cast their votes in the December 7 elections, of which 703 votes had been invalid, Returning Officer Ramesh Kanta Adhikari told Republica Online.


Leave A Comment