3 Indian cricketers invited to Imran Khan’s oath-taking ceremony as Pakistan PM

Published On: August 2, 2018 12:22 PM NPT By: Agencies

ISLAMABAD, Aug 2: Three former Indian cricketers – Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, and Navjot Singh Sindhu – have reportedly been invited to former Pakistan cricket team skipper-turned-politician Imran Khan’s oath-taking ceremony as Pakistan’s Prime Minister. It is also learned that Bollywood actor Aamir Khan is also invited for the same.

It is reported that the said ceremony is set to take place on August 11.

While there’s no clarity whether Gavaskar and Kapil will attend Imran’s swearing-in ceremony, Sidhu has accepted Imran’s invitation.

"It is (a) great honor, I accept the invitation. Men of genius are admired, men of power are feared, but men of character are trusted. Khan Sahab is a man of character. He can be trusted. Sportsmen build bridges, break barriers, unite people," Sidhu said in a statement issued in Chandigarh.

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry talking to media said the party has also asked the Foreign Office (FO) to inform it whether foreign heads of state, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, could be invited for August 11 event, the Dawn reported.

However, the response from the FO in the matter is still awaited.

According to figures provided by the Election Commission of Pakistan, the PTI emerged as the single largest party with 115 seats after the Election Commission of Pakistan released the complete preliminary results for 270 of 272 National Assembly constituencies.

Leave A Comment