3,578 polling centers for phase III local polls

Published On: August 31, 2017 01:31 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Aug 30: The Election Commission (EC) has fixed 3,578 polling centers for the third phase of local polls in Province 2 scheduled for next month. 

The number was determined based on the basis of the recommendations of the district election committees. EC officials said the recommendations made by political parties and bureaucrats were also taken into consideration while determining the number of polling centers. 

Fixing the polling stations is considered crucial for expediting poll preparations including logistical and technical support on the ground. 

"The EC will now undertake the logistical, security and technical preparations accordingly," said EC spokesperson Surya Prasad Sharma.  

EC officials said that they will now start deploying returning officers on the ground. The election body has decided to deploy around 31,000 persons including government employees and volunteers. This does not include the Nepal Army, Nepal Police, Armed Police Force and temporary police personnel. The security agencies have long been making due security arrangements in view of the threats from poll-opposing forces including some armed outfits active in the tarai.
Sarlahi, Saptari, Dhanusha, Mahottari, Rautahat, Siraha, Bara, and Parsa are scheduled to go to polls on September 18. 

Province 2, which has one metropolitan city, three sub-metropolises, 73 municipalities and 59 rural municipalities, is home to around 2,664,950 voters. They will elect a total of 6,627 representatives in 136 local units.

Leave A Comment