NC forms panel to pick poll candidates

Published On: October 12, 2017 05:00 AM NPT

Deuba has formed a 17-member board flouting the party statute, which states that the body should comprise only 14 members.

KATHMANDU, Oct 12: Nepali Congress (NC) on Wednesday formed a 17-member Parliamentary Board to pick the party's poll candidates. 

NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba formed the board nearly two years after his election as the chief of the party.
 As per the party statute, Deuba was required to form such a body within two months of his election. 

The board included President Sher Bahadur Deuba, senior leader Ram Chandra Paudel, General Secretary Shashank Koirala, Treasurer Sita Devi Yadav and central committee members Khum Bahadur Khadka, Gopal Man Shrestha, Bimalendra Nidhi and Prakash Man Singh.

CWC members Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Purna Bahadur Khadka, Ram Sharan Mahat, Mahesh Acharya, Prakash Sharan Mahat, Arjun Narasingh KC, Bal Krishna Khand and Chitra Lekha Yadav are also among the members of the board. 

Deuba has formed a 17-member board flouting the party statute, which states that the body should comprises only 14 members including six office bearers and eight members.

Also, the board consists of Khadka, who has been legally disqualified to contest the upcoming polls. Also, the law bars former home minister Khadka, who was convicted in corruption case, to even become a member of any political party.

Interestingly, NC Dang District Committee has already recommended Khadka as candidate for the upcoming elections from Dang constituency number 1 arguing that Khadka has done huge contribution to the party.
During a meeting of the party's parliamentary committee held on Wednesday evening, several members of the committee had criticized the formation of parliamentary board for excluding party's senior leaders and former office bearers. 

They had vented their ire saying that senior leaders like Kul Bahadur Gurung, Bal Bahadur KC and Dilendra Badu were excluded while Gyanendra Bahadur Karki and Prakash Sharan Mahat were included in the board.

Leave A Comment