President meets winners of Sports Award, AIPS officials

Published On: July 27, 2016 01:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 27: President Bidhya Devi Bhandari on Tuesday congratulated the winners of Pulsar Sports Award at her residence in Sital Niwas, Maharajgunj.

Footballer Nawayug Shrestha and judoka Phupu Lhamu Khatri were the winners of male and female player of the year awards. Footballer Anjan Bista and football coach Bal Gopal Maharjan were declared the best youth player and coach of the year during the award ceremony held on July 21 in the capital.

Table Tennis player Nabita Shrestha won the people's choice award while taekwondo player Sita Bhandari, late Lalit Krishna Shrestha and Shreeram Ranjitkar were honored with para, special (posthumously) and life time achievement awards respectively. National football team was declared the team of the year.

“I congratulate all the winners of Sports Award organized by NSJF. I also thank NSJF for taking the initiation to reward players and sportspersons. I think such type of program shall motivate players to do their best,” President Bhandari said.  

Meanwhile, President Bhandari also met the executive committee members of AIPS-Asia, the sports journalists' federation of Asia, at her office. AIPS-Asia members were in Kathmandu to attend the executive committee meeting of AIPS in Kathmandu hosted by NSJF on Sunday and Monday.

Speaking about the meeting, Bhandari said, “Such programs in Nepal will give positive message at the international level and I expect more such programs in future.”

“There are rumors that Nepal is unsafe after last year's earthquake. But the success of this meeting will send positive message about the country,” said Bhandari.

NSJF General Secretary Prakash Timalsina briefed the president about the Sports Award and the various initiatives of the body.   

Meanwhile, AIPS Asia President Mohammed Qasim briefed Bhandari about the status of sports journalism in Asia and also presented her a token.

Leave A Comment