Many party-switchers in Mahottari

Published On: September 9, 2017 06:45 AM NPT By: Mahesh Kumar Das

MAHOTTARI, Sept 9: A large number of candidates in Mahottari switched their parties at the last moment after failing to persuade the party leaders for tickets. Some of them have even registered as independent candidates.

On the nomination filing day on Wednesday, it was found that highest number of party-switchers were from Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN). As RJPN refused to provide ticket for the mayoral post, Narendra Yadav, a member of the party’s district presidium, switched to the CPN (Maoist Centre) just before the nomination filing day. He will be contesting for the mayoral post of Aurahi Municipality from his new party. Yadav, who has been in the mainstream politics for the past 25 years, is among the popular faces of Aurahi.

Similarly, Surendra Prasad Singh, a central member of RJPN joined the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN) in order to file his candidacy for the post of mayor of Jaleshwor Municipality. Mujim Rayeen, who was long affiliated to the Madhes based party, filed his candidacy for the mayoral post of Matihani Municipality from CPN-UML on Wednesday.

Likewise, Rajkumari Devi Mahato, a female leader of RJPN, joined FSFN in order to fight for the post of mayor of Gaushala Municipality. After failing to convince the party for a ticket, Bhola Tiwari of RJPN chose FSFN to file his candidacy for a member of Ward No.4 of Jaleshwar Municipality.

Rakesh Sah, a youth leader of Nepali Congress (NC) wanted to contest the election for the chief post of Ward 2 of Jaleshwar Municipality but the party refused to give him the ticket. As a result, he decided to fight the election as an independent candidate. Devendra Kapar and Jay Rudra Jha of RJPN also registered as independent candidates for the mayoral post of Jaleshwar Municipality as their party refused to provide them tickets. 

Leave A Comment