22 ward chairs elected in Taplejung are below 40 years of age

Published On: May 20, 2022 05:28 PM NPT By: Khagendra Adhikari

TAPLEJUNG, May 20: Among the 61 ward chairpersons elected in Taplejung district through the May 13 local polls, 22 are below 40 years of age. The youngest among them is just 26 years old. 

According to the details released in the official website of the Election Commission (EC), Ekhabu Mahesh Labung of Phaktanglung Rural Municipality-4 is the youngest ward chairperson in the entire district. Gopal Baniya, another UML ward chairperson elected from Sidingwa Rural Municipality-1 Kalikhola, is 27 years old. 

Chhitij Sunuwar, who is elected from Phungling Municipality-8, and Santosh Nigo Limbu, who is elected from Phungling Municipality-10 Furumbu, are both 29 years old. While Sunuwar belongs to the Nepali Congress, Limbu represents the CPN (Maoist Center).

Elected from the CPN-UML, Manoj Kumar Tumbahamphe who became a ward chairperson of Meringden Rural Municipality-6 Nalbu is 30 years old. Chandra Kumar Tamang, elected from Maiwakhola Rural Municipality-1; Arjun Kumar Limbu, elected from Aathrai Tribeni Rural Municipality-4; and Gyanje Sherpa, elected from Mikwakhola Rural Municipality-5 Papung, are all 31 years olds. Tamang and Sherpa are from the Maoist Center while Limbu is from the CPN-UML. 

Elected from Aathrai Tribeni Rural Municipality-5, Lakchuman (Lalit) Rai from the Maoist Center is 32 years old. Mohan Neupane, elected from Phungling Municipality-2, and Sabin Kumar Chongwang, elected from Meringden Rural Municipality-1 Thinglabu, are both 33 years old. Neupane is from the CPN (Unified Socialist) and Chongwang from the CPN-UML. 

Similarly, three other newly elected ward chairpersons –Deu Prasad Limbu, Dil Kumar Sunuwar and Poorna Kumar Mangmu– are all 35 years old. Limbu has been elected from Phaktanglung Rural Municipality-5 Tapethok, Sunuwar from Pathibhara Yangwarak Rural Municipality-2 Nangkholyang and Mangmu from Sidingwa Rural Municipality-2 Sadewa. All of them belong to the CPN-UML. 

Pemba Tashi Sherpa, Narendra Limbu, and Durga Prasad Palungwa are all 36 years old. Sherpa is elected from Phaktanglung Rural Municipality-6 Lelep, Limbu from Maiwakhola Rural Municipality-2 Dhungesanghu, and Palungwa from Phungling Municipality-4. Sherpa, Limbu and Palungwa belong to the Nepali Congress, CPN (Unified Socialist), and CPN-UML, respectively. 

Elected from Sirijunga Rural Municipality-8 Yamphudin, Krishna Kumar Gurung from Nepali Congress is 37 years old. Buddhi Prasad Dahal, elected from Sirijangha Rural Municipality-7 Khewang, and Sojit Shrestha, elected from Phungling Municipality-5, are both 38 years old. Dahal is an independent candidate while Shrestha belongs to the CPN (Maoist Center). 

Similarly, Chetan Lama Sherpa and Madan (Tej) Gurung are both 39 years old. Sherpa has been elected from Phaktanglung Rural Municipality-7 Olangchun Gola while Gurung from Phungling Municipality-6. Sherpa is an independent candidate, while Gurung represents the Nepali Congress. 


Leave A Comment