Court suspends oath of newly elected ward chiefs of Bharatpur Metropolis

Published On: June 4, 2017 07:41 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

CHITWAN, June 4: The extended bench of Patan High Court at Hetauda has issue stay order in the name of the office of chief election officer to suspend the oath of the newly elected chairpersons of ward no. 4 and 7 of Bharatpur Metropolis.

Likewise, a single name of Judge Babu Ram Regmi ordered the office to suspend the role of newly elected chiefs of those wards under the article 61 of the election act 2016.  The court has reserved its verdict till it accepts the written version from the chief election office.

Hari Prasad Acharya of CPN-UML was elected as chief of ward no. 4 defeating Upendra Raj Sapkota of Nepali Congress by seven votes whereas Rajendra Mani Kafle of CPN-UML was elected as the new ward chief defeating Shyam Prasad Lamichhane of Nepali Congress by 14 votes.

Following the defeat, Sapkota and Lamichhane filed a case against the office of chief election officer citing error in vote counting in the court.  

Leave A Comment