Attariya Cup women's cricket from today

Published On: May 3, 2017 10:05 PM NPT By: DIL BAHADUR CHHATYAL

DHANGADHI, May 3: Armed Police Force (APF) and Milan Cricket Academy (MCA) of Jhapa are set to battle in the inaugural match of the Ruslan Attariya Cup Women's T20 Cricket Tournament on Thursday.

The tournament with the biggest cash prize in women's cricket of Nepal is being organized by United Attariya Sports Club (UASC). The tournament will be played at APF's ground in Attariya. 

Meanwhile UASC's President Rabi Khanal informed that all the preparations for the tournament has been complete. “We have completed all the preparation for the tournament. We have received huge support from everyone including sponsors so we are hopeful of conducting the tournament successfully,” said Khanal. 

The tournament that will be held in round-robin format will see the participation of six teams from all over the country. The teams will be divided into two groups. APF, MCA and Kanchanpur Women's Cricket Team are pitted in Group A. Similarly, Group B consists of Kailali District Cricket Academy (KDCA), Rising Cricket Women of Kathmandu and Bara Cricket Academy (BCA). Two local teams including Kanchanpur and Kailali are ready for the tournament while APF, MCA and Kathmandu-based Rising Cricket have already arrived, according to Khanal. 

Top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals where Group A winner will play against Group B runner-up and Group B winner will take on Group A runner-up for securing their places in the final. 

The champion of the tournament will bag a purse of Rs 200,000 while the runner-up will be rewarded with Rs 100,000. Similarly the player of the tournament will be given Rs 25,000 and the best batswoman, best bowler and best wicketkeeper will be given Rs 10,000 each. Likewise, player-of-the-match in every match will be awarded with Rs 3000. 

Leave A Comment