29 parties register for local elections in Mahottari

Published On: March 29, 2017 10:13 AM NPT By: Mahesh Kumar Das

MAHOTTARI, March 29: As informed by the District Election Office, Mahottari, only 29 political parties in the district will be able to participate in the upcoming local level elections slated for May 14.
The Election Commission had instructed the election offices in the districts to register the parties which will be participating in the election by January 30. According to Pinky Raya, chief election officer in the district, 29 parties have registered for the elections till date.

“Those parties that failed to register with the office within the given deadline will have to contest the election through independent candidates,” Raya said.   

EC had ordered District election offices to register the name of the parties as soon as possible as per which Madhesi People's Rights Forum-Democratic, Federal Socialist Forum Nepal, CPN-UML, Naya Shakti Nepal and Communist Party of Nepal (Marxist-Leninist) among others have registered with the Election Office.

Raya informed that the parties that have yet to register can contest the elections only if the EC extends the registration date.

Leave A Comment