MPRF-D registers proposal in House demanding eight provinces

Published On: February 26, 2017 03:55 PM NPT By: Ashok Dahal  | @ashokpillar

KATHMANDU, Feb 26: Five political parties in the parliament, including the Madhesi People's Right Forum - Democratic (MPRF-D) led by Bijay Gachchhedar, registered a further amendment proposal on the constitution amendment bill on Sunday demanding eight provinces.

The proposal was registered by Gopal Dahit of Tharuhat Tarai Party, Rukmini Chaudhary of Sanghiya Loktantrik Rastriya Manch (Tharuhat), Yashoda Kumari Lama of Dalit Janajati Party Nepal, Ram Kumar Rai of Khumbuwan Rastriya Morcha Nepal and Subodh Kumar Pokharel of MPRF-D at the Parliament Secretariat on Sunday.

The proposal demands a new province comprising Jhapa, Morang, Sunsari, Udayapur, Saptari and Siraha districts.

Likewise, they have proposes to remove Kailali and Kanchanpur districts from the Province 7 and include them on the Province 5 without the hill districts.

The bill under discussion in the parliament has also proposed Province 5 without hill districts.

Leave A Comment