15 days of national holidays

Published On: March 16, 2019 08:03 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 16: The government has declared 15 days of national holidays for the upcoming Nepali new year 2076 BS [2019/2020.

A notice on Nepal Gazette Friday said Nepali New Year’s Day, May Day, Buddha Jayanti, Constitution Day, Dashain (5 days), Tihar (3 days), Mahashivaratri, International Women’s Day and Holi are national holidays.

However, the government has also decided to grant holidays to specific groups of people during festivals according to their cultures and religion.

Women will have a holiday on Teej, people with disability will get a holiday on International Disability Day and schools and colleges will have a holiday on Sri Panchami.

Similarly, communities celebrating Gai Jatra, Indra Jatra, Ghode Jatra, Matsendranath Jatra, Falgunanda Day,  Guru Nanak Day, Chandi Purnima, Udhauli, Yomari Punhi, Maghe Sakranti, Jitiya, Gaura, Chatth, Eid, Christmas, Lhosar, Siruwa Pawani and Dhabthamby festival will get to observe holidays on the festivals.



Leave A Comment