15 Dalit leaders elected to HoR under PR electoral system

Published On: December 15, 2022 10:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 15: Fifteen persons from Dalit community have been elected to the House of Representatives (HoR) under the proportional category.     

According to the information shared by the Election Commission on Wednesday, those to be elected from Dalit community are Jivan Pariyar (Kaski), Shanti Pariyar (Chitwan), Rupa BK (Kapilvastu), Sita Mijar (Nuwakot) and Asha BK (Banke) from Nepali Congress. Similarly, the CPN UML got Ishwor Bahadur Rijal (Dolakha), Prabhu Hajara Dushad (Parsa), Chandra Bishwokarma (Rukum Paschim), Rukmini Rana Baraili (Kavrepalanchwok) and Harkamaya Bishwarkarma (Jhapa) elected as lawmakers under the PR electoral system. 

The CPN (Maoist Centre) elected two Dalit members, namely Ranendra Baraili (Chitwan) and Sushila Shripaili (Arghakhanchi). Santosh Pariyar (Bhaktapur) and Shiva Nepali (Okhaldhunga) are the Dalit members elected under proportional category of HoR from the Rastriya Swatantra Party. Anita Nepali (Salyan) is the Dalit leader elected as HoR member from Rastriya Prajatantra Party.

Under the FPTP, CPN-UML got Chhabilal Bishwokarma elected from constituency no 1 of Rupandehi district. He is the only Dalit candidate elected under the FPTP electoral system. Out of the total 275 members in the House of Representatives, there are only 16 members from Dalit community now. 

The Dalit representation declined this time as compared to the previous elections. Three Dalit leaders were elected as HoR members under the FPTP electoral system in 2074, while their representation was 8.48 percent (151) out of total 601 elected for the Constituent Assembly election held in 2064 BS. Among them, seven were directly elected from the CPN (Maoist Centre). Moreover, for the Constituent Assembly, 2070, the Dalit representation declined to 6.82 percent out of total 601 members. Among them, two were directly elected from the UML.


Leave A Comment