14-member women’s squad announced for World Cup Qualifiers

Published On: February 16, 2019 11:29 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 16: A 14-member Nepal national women’s cricket team has been announced for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Asian Region Qualifiers on Friday. 

Rubina Chhetri will lead the team in the qualifiers which will be held from February 17 to 27. Apsari Begam has made her place in the national team squad for the first time, with Doli Bhatta excluded from the team.

Bhatta was in the team when Nepal played Thailand Woman’s T20 Smash at Bangkok in Thailand last month. 

The squad comprises captain Chhetri, vice-captain Seeta Rana Magar, Karuna Bhandari, Sarita Magar, Nery Thapa, Indu Barma, Sonu Khadka, Arati Bidari, Kajal Shrestha, Roma Thapa, Kabita Kunwar, Mamata Kumari Chaudhary and Bindu Rawal. 
Anjali Chand, Ritu Kumari Konujiya and Suman Bista are included as the optional players.

The Nepali team will leave for Thailand on Saturday. Nepal’s head coach is Binod Das, with Nira Rajupodhaya serving as the assistant coach, Amrita Paudel as the team manager and Sakun Dani as the team physio. 

Head coach Das said that the team is capable to get good results if the team performs well with regards to its preparations. 
The top two teams of the tournament will make their places in the Global Qualifiers. 

According to Das Nepal’s target is to finish top two of the tournament after a good 16-day preparations. 
Nepal will take on Malaysia in the first match on February 19 and host Thailand on February 21 in the second match.

Likewise, Nepal will face the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on February 22, and Hong Kong two days later. Nepal will go head to head against China on February 25, and against Kuwait on February 27. 

Leave A Comment