UML nominates Sarbendra Khanal as candidate for by-election in Tanahun-1

Published On: April 1, 2023 04:55 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 1: CPN-UML has nominated former police chief Sarbendra Khanal as the party’s candidate for the upcoming by-election in Tanahun Constituency-1 and Ram Prasad Neupane in Chitwan Constituency-2.  The byelections will  be held on April 23.

According to UML Deputy General Secretary Prithvi Subba Gurung, a meeting held at the party office in Lalitpur on Saturday decided to nominate former Inspector General of Police (IGP) Sarbendra Khanal as the candidate in Tanahun-1.

Earlier, Khanal had contested the general elections on November 20 from Kathmandu Constituency-6 but was defeated by Rastriya Swatantra Party’s Shishir Khanal, who  was elected from that constituency.

Similarly, the party has decided to nominate Ram Prasad Neupane as the candidate in Chitwan-2.

However, it has not been decided who will be nominated for the by-election in Bara Constituency-2. 


Leave A Comment