RSP appoints election mobilization coordinators for by-elections

Published On: March 26, 2023 05:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 26: The Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) has appointed election mobilization coordinators for the by-elections.

The central leaders of the party have been given the responsibility of coordination for the by-elections to be held in three constituencies on April 23.

RSP Vice Chairman Dol Prasad Aryal has been assigned to Chitwan-2, Joint General Secretary Kavindra Burlakoti to Tanahun-1 and Central Member Ganesh Karki to Bara-2, according to   General Secretary Mukul Dhakal.

Chairman Rabi Lamichhane will be the RSP candidate in Chitwan-2. Candidates for the other two constituencies have not been selected. The RSP has said that the candidates will be selected through competition among the aspirants.

MP Manish Jha is also going to be deployed for the selection of candidates and other preparations for Bara-2. Central member Karki said that the MP is going to the area on Sunday for the internal preparations of the party for the by-elections.

After Ramsahay Prasad Yadav, who was elected from that area, was elected as the Vice President, the post of HoR members became vacant in Bara-2. Nepali Congress (NC), Maoist Center and other ruling parties have indicated that they will help the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) in this constituency.

To prepare for the election in Tanahun-1, the joint general secretary of RSP has been deployed in the region. After Ramchandra Poudel was elected as the President, a re-election is about to be held there. It is being said that Govind Bhattarai will be a candidate from the NC from this constituency.

The aspirants of an HoR berth from Tanahun-1 include Bikas Sigdel who was defeated in the November 20 elections on an RSP ticket and Namastelal Bhoomi Shrestha. Shrestha from Bandipur is an active social worker.

“A competition will be held among the aspirants. There is time to register the candidacy within the party until the 30th March ," said Jhabilal Dumre, in-charge of RSP, Gandaki Province, "Whoever gets the most votes in online voting will be the party’s candidate."

The candidates will be decided by 7PM on April 2. The active party members of the area will be allowed to vote to elect the aspiring candidate, said RSP in-charge of Gandaki Province Dumre.

Leave A Comment