Maoist Centre to withdraw support to the Lumbini province government

Published On: March 22, 2023 05:27 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 22: CPN (Maoist Center) has decided to withdraw its support to Chief Minister of Lumbini Province Leela Giri.

As the power equation at the center has changed with the presidential election, the leaders of the Maoist Center have made it clear that they  will withdraw the support given to Giri, who became the chief minister from CPN-UML.

Giri, who was appointed as Chief Minister on January 11 with the support of 56 MPs of seven parties and two  independent lawmakers, received a vote of confidence on  January 17.

Maoist Parliamentary Party leader Jokh Bahadur Mahara said that the issue of withdrawing the support given to the government is being discussed. 

The Maoist Centre, Janta Samajwadi Party  and Janamat Party, which gave the vote of confidence to the chief minister, are currently leading the provincial government. Nagarik Unmukti Party (NUP) , Loktantrik Samajwadi (LSP), CPN ( Unified Socialist) supported from outside. Now according to the changed power equation, all these parties are against the province government.

If the Maoist Center, which supported the chief minister, withdraws its support, Chief Minister Giri will be in the minority. After the Maoists Centre withdraws its support, it is certain that other small parties will also follow suit.

The chief minister will then have to seek a vote of confidence as per the constitutional provision. And in case of not getting the vote of confidence, the Giri-led government will fall.

The eight-party alliance has a majority of 50 votes in the state assembly. There are 27 members of Nepali Congress, 10 of Maoist Center, 3 of JSP, 3 of Janamat Party, 3 of LSP and 4 members of NUP . A total of 44 votes are required for a majority in the 87-member provincial assembly.

If the balance of power at the center remains unchanged, only 33 MPs in Lumbini, including 29 members of the CPN-UML and 4 members of the RPP, are in favor of the incumbent chief minister.

Leave A Comment