Yadav elected as Nepal’s new Vice President

Published On: March 17, 2023 05:14 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 17:  Ramsahaya Prasad Yadav of Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) has been elected as the new vice president of Nepal. In the election held on Friday, Yadav secured 30,328  votes.

In the  election, 329 provincial assembly members and 184 federal parliamentarians voted for him. Ya dav had the support of Nepali Congress, Maoist Center, Unified Socialist and other parties.

Likewise, 169 provincial assembly members and 104 federal MPs voted for UML candidate Astalaxmi Shakya.

Similarly, 15 provincial assembly members and 23 federal parliamentarians voted for Janamat Party candidate Mamata Jha. Pramila Yadav, who announced the withdrawal of her candidacy, has received the vote of one province assembly member.

There are 333 federal parliamentarians and 550 provincial assembly members in the vice-presidential election. The weightage of the vote of a federal MP is 79 and while that of the province assembly member is 48.


Leave A Comment