National Assembly member election process begins

Published On: January 2, 2022 11:51 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 2: The process for the election of National Assembly members has started from Saturday. The Election Commission has started the process of publishing the voter list, filing a complaint against the claim and including the missing list from Saturday.

The Election Commission has already announced the schedule for publication of the final voter list and registration of nomination papers on January 3 and 4. Elections are being held for 19 members in the National Assembly. The terms of eight members from UML, four each from CPN (Maoist Center) and CPN (Unified Socialist), three from Nepali Congress and one nominated member will end on March 5.

Elections are being held for a total of 19 posts representing the provinces, including women, dalits, persons with disabilities or minorities and others. Of them, seven women, three dalits, two disabled and seven others will be elected.

The terms of Suman Raj Pyakurel, Parashuram Meghi Gurung, Agaman Prasad Bantawa Rai, Kabita Bogati, Komal Oli, Nainkala Ojha, Ram Lakhan Chamar and Chakra Prasad Snehi from UML, Dinanath Sharma of CPN (Maoist Center), Shashikala Dahal, Khim Bahadur BK and Jeevan Budha are coming to an end.  

Similarly, Radheshyam Adhikari, Tara Devi Bhatta and Drigha Narayan Pandey from the Nepali Congress, Thagendra Prakash Puri, Udaya Sharma Poudel, Shanti Kumari Adhikari GC and Sher Bahadur Kunwar from the Unified Socialists and Ram Narayan Bidari nominated by the President are outgoing members of National Assembly. 


Leave A Comment