NC General Convention: Voting for the leadership of Bagmati Province today

Published On: December 4, 2021 10:27 AM NPT By: Sarita Shrestha

DHADING, Dec 4: Voting for the leadership of Bagmati Pradesh under the 14th General Convention of the Nepali Congress (NC) is being held today. A total of 2,137 representatives from all over the province will participate in the voting to be held in the province capital Hetauda.

Indra Baniya of Hetauda, ​​Jagadishwar Narasimha KC of Nuwakot and Bhimsen Dan Pradhan of Kathmandu have fielded their candidacies for the post of Province President on Friday. Voting is scheduled to take place from 8 AM to 4 PM, according to the Election Committee.

From Baniya’s panel, Madan Krishna Shrestha and Dharmaraj Gautam have given candidacy for the post of Vice Presidents, Raju Shrestha and Tilak Ruwali for General Secretary and Hari Sharan Shrestha, Mahendra Thing and Niru Shrestha for Joint General Secretary. Similarly, from the K.C’s panel, Mohan Basnet and Rajendra Burlakoti have given candidacy for the post of Vice Presidents, Kanchan Chandra Badey and Ram Chandra Aryal for General Secretary and Jeewan Dongol, Rishiram Ghimire and Bir Bahadur Tamang for Joint General Secretary.

Likewise, from Pradhan’s group, for the post of Vice President, Chandra Maharjan and Parshuram Pokhrel has given their candidacy while Suresh Shrestha and Gauri Prasad Dawadi for General Secretary and Raj Kumar Pathak, Jaya Narayan Sapkota and Moti Maya Tamang has given their candidacies for the post of Joint General Secretary.

While Baniya has assumed the leadership of the party from President Sher Bahadur Deuba's group, KC has led the party from senior NC leader Ram Chandra Poudel and former general secretary Prakash Man Singh. Similarly, Pradhan has led the party from former NC General Secretary Krishna Prasad Sitaula’s group.

There will be three joint general secretaries including one president, two vice presidents, two general secretaries and one woman among the office bearers of NC Bagmati Province. Likewise, 91 province level candidates will be elected. Out of which, eight office bearers, 48 ​​members from the open category and 35 members from the inclusive category will be elected. The convention has 2,137 participants from 13 districts.


Leave A Comment