12 players, 3 teams nominated for Jhapa Sports Award

Published On: January 15, 2018 07:56 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 15: Nepal Sports Journalist Forum (NSJF) Jhapa is set to host the first ever Jhapa Sports Award coming Sunday. A total of 12 players and three teams from the district have been nominated for different categories, according to organizers.

Program coordinator Parbat Portel announced the nominees during a press meet held at Birtamod in Jhapa on Sunday. According to him, four categories with three players each and three teams have been nominated for the inaugural award program.

Football players Bishal Rai (B) and Yogesh Gurung, along with chess player Bhupendra Niraula, are nominated in the Best Player category for male. Similarly, for female category, cricketer Rubina Chhetri, Karate player Esther Rai and boxer Sulap Magar are enlisted for the top accolade. Youth Player of the Year Award nominations includes football players Devendra Tamang and Pujan Uperkoti along with woman cricketer Sabnam Rai.

Likewise, football coach Sanjay Rai, cricket coach Manoj Katuwal, and Karate coach Sita Rai have been nominated for the Best Coach of the Year Award. Also, Jhapa XI FC, Milan Cricket Club, and Birtamod United FC are enlisted for Peoples Choice’s Award for the best team.

Various tournaments and performances held in 2016/17 were considered while selecting the nominees for the Sports Award, said NSJF Jhapa President Ramesh Samadarshi, explaining the selection process.

Newly-elected president of Jhapa District Football Association (DFA), Bhagirath Ale, was the chief guest of the event. Eastern region president of All Nepal Football Association (ANFA), Jal Kumar Gurung, was the special guest. 

On the occasion, Ale lauded the efforts of NSJF Jhapa for organizing such motivational event for players, coaches and teams. He also assured support for next year’s events on behalf of DFA.


Leave A Comment