Four ex-Maoist lawmakers file writ petition at Supreme Court, seeking their reinstatement

Published On: July 28, 2021 03:23 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 28: Four former Maoist leaders who were sacked by their parent party from the posts of members of parliament filed a writ petition at the Supreme Court (SC) on Wednesday, seeking a court order to reinstate them to their positions.  

Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Lekh Raj Bhatta, Prabhu Sah and Gauri Shankar Chaudhary filed the petition at the SC after three months of being sacked from their positions of lawmakers by CPN (Maoist Center). The party had taken action against these fours after they joined the CPN-UML following the apex court’s verdict to scrap the merger between the two parties.

The SC on March 7 invalidated the unification between CPN-UML led by KP Oli and CPN (Maoist Center) led by Pushpa Kamal Dahal and revived the two political parties in their original forms before they joined hands in 2018. The two parties had forged an electoral alliance with an agreement to unify the two parties after the parliamentary election in 2017. 


Leave A Comment