UML directs its members to withdraw from Karnali Province govt

Published On: June 18, 2021 07:30 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

SURKHET, June 18: The Karnali Province Parliamentary Party meeting of the CPN-UML held on Friday Directed the party’s three ministers to immediately quit their post from the CPN (Maoist Center) led provincial government.

Earlier on April 16, provincial members Prakash Jwala, Ammar Bahadur Thapa, Kurma Raj Shahi and Nanda Singh Buda had voted for Maoist Center’s leader Mahendra Bahadur Shahi as the Chief Minister of the Karnali Province, defying the party’s whip.

The meeting presided over by parliamentary party leader Yamlal Kandel directed Thapa, Shahi and Budha to sit in the opposition bench by resigning from the minister.   

As they crossed the floor despite the party’s whip, the four members were sacked from their posts as well as the party’s general member too.

However, their post was reinstated after the Supreme Court’s interim order.

Leave A Comment