Sudurpaschim Province

Nepal led-faction of UML to stand with CM Bhatta, Oli led-faction not to give a vote of confidence

Published On: June 8, 2021 10:55 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 8: The Madhav Kumar Nepal led-faction of CPN UML has decided to support the Chief Minister of Sudurpaschim Province, Trilochan Bhatta, who is seeking a vote of confidence in the provincial assembly today. However, the KP Sharma Oli led-faction of the party has decided not to give a vote to CM Bhatta.

Both the factions took the respective decision during a parliamentary party meeting of UML held earlier this morning. The CPN UML has already issued a whip to its lawmakers in the provincial assembly not to give a vote of confidence to CM Bhatta.

CM Bhatta will have to garner 27 of 52 votes in the provincial assembly in order to win the trust of parliament. Of 52 parliament members, 24 except the speaker of the house belong to CPN UML, 13 to CPN (Maoist Center), 12 to Nepali Congress and two to Janata Samajbadi Party.

CM Bhatta will be able to garner a majority vote, if the Nepal led-faction of UML votes in his favor defying party’s whip.


Leave A Comment