Constitutional Council Meeting

Almost four dozen appointments made in various constitutional bodies; Former Home Secretary Prem Rai picked as chief of anti-graft body (With full list)

Published On: December 20, 2020 03:40 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

News about the appointments comes to the public four days after the Constitutional Council meeting amid reservation expressed by the rival faction in the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP)

KATHMANDU, Dec 20: Almost four dozen appointments have been made in various constitutional bodies.

The news about the appointments in a total of 45 vacant positions in various constitutional bodies including the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA), Election Commission, and National Human Rights Commission came to the public four days after the Constitutional Council (CC) meeting was held on Wednesday.

Sources said those recommended for the appointments include Former Home Secretary Prem Rai as the chief commissioner of the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA), Tap Bahadur Magar as chief commissioner of National Human Rights Commission. Those recommended by the main opposition party, Nepali Congress (NC) President Sher Bahadur Deuba are also included in the list of the appointments.

Sources familiar with the development said a CC meeting held after issuing a new ordinance on Constitutional Council held on Wednesday made a decision to nominate the name of Rai as the chief of the anti-graft body. The ordinance was introduced after House Speaker Agni Sapkota chose to abstain from the meeting, making the Constitutional Council meeting short of the required quorum.

The ordinance paved the way to hold the CC meeting even if there is a presence of three of the six members of the Constitutional Council meeting. Chief Justice Rana and Chairman of National Assembly Ganesh Prasad Timilsina were present in the CC meeting chaired by Prime Minister Oli.

Although the appointments were made by the CC meeting on Wednesday itself, the decision was not made public until Sunday, according to sources. The decision made on the appointments has come to the public as the recommendations were registered at the parliament secretariat on Sunday.

The decision has come to the public shortly after President Bidya Devi Bhandari dissolved the House of Representatives and announced fresh dates for mid-term elections for April 30 and May 10. This means that all those recommended by the CC meeting do not have to undergo the parliamentary hearing process.

Full list of those recommended in various constitutional bodies

Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority

  1. Prem Kumar Rai                                 Chief Commissioner
  2. Jaya Bahadur Chanda                         Commissioner
  3. Kishor Silwal                                      Commissioner

Election Commission

  1. Ram Prasad Bhandari                        Commissioner
  2. Dr Janaki Tuladhar                             Commissioner

National Human Rights Commission

  1. Tap Bahadur Magar                            Chief Commissioner
  2. Manoj Dawadi                                    Commissioner
  3. Dr Surya Dhungel                              Commissioner
  4. Lily Thapa Basnet                              Commissioner
  5. Mihi Thakur                                        Commissioner

National Natural Resources and Fiscal Commission

  1. Juddha Gurung                                    Commissioner
  2. Amar Raj Mishra                                  Commissioner

National Women's Commission

  1. Kamala Kumari Parajuli                                  Chief Commissioner
  2. Krishna Kumari Paudel Khatiwada                Commissioner
  3. Bitta Kumari Sinha                                         Commissioner

Dalit Commission

  1. Deba Raj BK                                                   Chief Commissioner
  2. Mina Sob                                                        Commissioner
  3. Parshu Ram Ramtel                                       Commissioner
  4. Tunja Baraili                                                   Commissioner
  5. Medheli Parki                                                 Commissioner

Inclusive Commission

  1. Mana Prasad Khatri                                       Chief Commissioner
  2. Ram Chandra Joshi                                       Commissioner
  3. Hari Datta Joshi                                             Commissioner
  4. Jitendra Paswan                                            Commissioner

Indigenous Nationalities Commission

  1. Ram Bahadur Thapa                                   Chief Commissioner
  2. Min Shreesh Magar                                     Commissioner
  3. Minchung Lama                                          Commissioner
  4. Rina Rana                                                   Commissioner
  5. Sharan Rai                                                 Commissioner

Madhesi Commission

  1. Jibachha Sah                                            Commissioner
  2. Renu Devi Sah                                         Commissioner
  3. Bijaya Gupta                                            Commissioner

Tharu Commission

  1. Bikas Chaudhary                                    Commissioner
  2. Bhola Ram Chaudhary                           Commissioner

Muslim Commission

  1. Mohammad Ali                                    Commissioner
  2. Mirja Arsad Beg                                  Commissioner




Leave A Comment