We are a team of professional management and journalists — one of the best in the Nepali media. Our duty toward our readers is to provide them with impartial news, bold views, in-depth analysis and thought-provoking commentary. We shall do this without fear or favor, and we shall be guided by nothing but our conscience.

Know More

Latest Article By Author

Published On: July 12, 2017 01:57 PM NPT By: Republica

National, international debaters compete in MahaSangram III

National, international debaters compete in MahaSangram III

KATHMANDU: An International BP Debating Championship, MahaSangram III, was organized by Debate Network Nepal (DNN), in collaboration with Xavier Academy, Lazimpat from Thursday to Monday.

As per the press statement issued by Debate Network Nepal, the competition was organized in British Parliamentary style. BP style consists of four teams of two, divided into government and opposition sides. These four teams defend and oppose a given debate motion topic for about an hour, with individual speaker time of seven minutes. MahaSangram III was supported by British Council Nepal.

Speaking at the event’s closing ceremony organized in Hotel Radisson on Monday, Managing Director of DNN, Raj Kharel said that a total 64 teams participated in the tournament, including five international debate teams. He expressed belief that MahaSangram was a tournament with international standards, and had strengthened democratic values among debaters as it encouraged participants to “be more tolerant and respectful of citizens”.  

The debate teams were assessed based on three categories: English Opens, Nepali Opens and English Schools. Shobita Neupane and Asmita Nepal, of team SXC ‘Kha’ won in the Nepali category, Anurag Upadhyaya and Avash Byanjankar of Agrios Yagi “A” won in the English Opens while Paribesh Sitoula and Shuvam Thakur of team BOB won in the English Schools category. Shalupa Khanal and Avash Byanjankar were declared the best Nepali and English speakers, respectively. 

Leave A Comment