Published On: May 24, 2019 06:00 PM NPT By: Agencies

Bollywood stars with BJP tickets register wins; Urmila Matondkar, Shatrughan Sinha lose big

Bollywood stars with BJP tickets register wins; Urmila Matondkar, Shatrughan Sinha lose big

Photo Courtesy: news18


The Indian Lok Sabha will have its usual glamor quotient this time too with newcomers such as action star Sunny Deol and singer Hans Raj Hans set to join their showbiz colleagues Hema Malini, Kirron Kher and Ravi Kishan, all from the BJP, in the lower house of Parliament.

There were big losers too with Raj Babbar, the Congress chief in Uttar Pradesh and its candidate from Fatehpur Sikri, trailing by over 4.9 lakh votes against his BJP rival. Urmila Matondkar and Shatrughan Sinha, Congress candidates from Mumbai North and Patna Sahib, respectively, and Moon Moon Sen, contesting from Trinamool Congress, also failed to charm voters.

Deol, the newest entrant to the select club of showbiz stars trying to find political relevance who joined the BJP just weeks before the elections, won the Gurdaspur seat from Punjab with a margin of over 82,000 votes, according to Indian Election Commission.

His electoral rival, Congress' Sunil Jakhar, won the seat in a by-election from Gurdaspur that had earlier favored another star, Vinod Khanna, for the longest time. The late actor held the seat for BJP for four consecutive terms from 1998 to 2014.

Deol's father, veteran actor Dharmendra, won the Bikaner seat in 2004 but did not seek another term in politics, leaving his wife Hema Malini and son to fight elections. He, however, campaigned for both. Hema Malini looked set to retain her Mathura seat for a consecutive second term, surging ahead of her closest rival Kunwar Narendra Singh of the Rashtriya Lok Dal.

The vote tally for Sufi singer-turned-politician Hans Raj Hans, who is contesting from North West Delhi on a BJP ticket, trounced AAP candidate Gugan Singh by over 550,000 votes. In Chandigarh, Kirron Kher, the BJP MP from the constituency, was set for another win, polling more than 200,000 votes against Congress' Pawan Kumar Bansal. Sunny Deol's ‘Dillagi’ co-star Urmila Matondkar, also fighting the elections for the first time on a Congress ticket from Mumbai North, failed to register a win, earning only 241,000 votes against winning BJP candidate Gopal Shetty, whose vote count stood at 700,000 votes.

The Modi factor, however, failed to yield dividends for actor-politician Jaya Prada, who recently switched to BJP after spending years in the SP. Her former colleague and now bitter rival, SP's Azam Khan, was poised for a win in Uttar Pradesh's Rampur constituency.

BJP, Lok_Sabha, glamor,

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Leave A Comment