KATHMANDU, Dec 10: Leaders of various political parties taking part in a discourse organized by the Human Rights and Peace Society here on Saturday have pressed for bringing into effect the new constitution to ensure good governance and transparency in the country.

TAMGHAS, Dec 10: A mass demonstration was held here today as part of the 11th day of the indefinite district-wide banda (general strike) to protest the constitution amendment bill the government registered in the parliament.

KATHMANDU, Dec 10: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal has said constitution amendment itself is the beginning of its implementation.

KATHMANDU, Dec 10: President Bidya Devi Bhandari on Saturday attended a reception organized by the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers on the occasion of the 68th Human Rights Day.

KATHMANDU, Dec 10: House Speaker Onsari Gharti today appealed to Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal to take positive step to end the ongoing deadlock.

ARGHAKHANCHI, Dec 10: The Joint Struggle Committee, Arghakhanchi, an alliance formed to protest the constitution amendment bill that proposes to transfer five hill districts from Province 5, has resumed banda in the district yet again.

KATHMANDU, Dec 10: Experts have said that stability of governance is more important than political stability for the economic development of a country.

KATHMANDU, Dec 10: Expressing concern over the move by the local restructuring commission to collect feedback to determine the number of local units, Nepali Congress (NC) lawmakers representing various Tarai districts have urged the commission to determine the number of local units only after holding consultations with the people in the districts.

KATHMANDU, Dec 10: Various INGOs have informed the government  in writing about their inability to provide Rs. 300,000 housing grants to earthquake victims, saying they have been facing difficulties arranging the necessary resources for that.

KATHMANDU, Dec 10: The constitution amendment bill registered by the government is in trouble as more fringe political parties have decided to stand against it.